The City of Santa Ana accepting their award for Collection System of the Year, medium category, at the CWEA awards ceremony April 14th in Sacramento. (photo by Eleakis & Elder Photography)

Introducing CWEA’s 2021-22 Award Winners

Announcements, Members in the News

CWEA is proud to announce the state winners of the Annual Awards program. These individuals and agencies were selected by CWEA’s Committees from over 172 applications.

“It’s an incredibly exciting time to work in the wastewater industry. From recycled water to green energy to resource recovery, these award winners demonstrate they can step up, work together, and achieve great things to ensure clean water for all Californians. We are so proud of their accomplishments,” said Debi Lewis, CWEA Board Member and Chair of our Membership and External Relations committee which oversees the awards program.

Congratulations to all the winners. These agencies and individuals are leading the way in protecting and enhancing our water environment.


Photos of the Year

Collection Systems

City of Roseville

City of Roseville

Collection System of the Year Large (Over 500 miles)
City of Roseville

Collection System of the Year Medium (250–500 miles)
City of Santa Ana

City of Santa Ana

Collection System of the Year Small (0-249 Miles)
Leucadia Wastewater District

Collection System Person of the Year
Kelvin Ellison, Pebble Beach CSD

Kelvin Ellison

Kelvin Ellison

Facilities of the Year

HAARF City of Escondido

HAARF City of Escondido

Plant of the Year Medium
Hale Avenue Resource Recovery Facility – City of Escondido

Tertiary Treatment Plant of the Year
Silicon Valley Advanced Water Purification Center

Plant of the Year Small
Stillwater Wastewater Treatment Plant – City of Redding

Stillwater WWTP, City of Redding

Stillwater WWTP, City of Redding

Engineering Research & Achievement

Research Achievement of the Year
Silicon Valley Clean Water “Energy-Positive Anaerobic Secondary Treatment”
CWEA’s Board has approved renaming this award the Dr. David Jenkins Research Achievement Award starting with our next awards cycle.

Community Engagement and Outreach

VallecitosBest Use of Social Media
Vallecitos Water District “The Work We Do Videos”

Project of the Year Large Budget (Over $20K)
LACSD “Connecting with Our Community During COVID”

Project of the Year Small Budget (Under $20K)
Central San 75th Anniversary Experience

Community Engagement & Outreach Person of the Year
Maria Rosales-Ramirez, Los Angeles County Sanitation Districts


OC San

OC San

Safety: Plant of the Year Large
OC San

Safety: Plant of the Year Medium
Central Marin Sanitary District

Safety: Plant of the Year Small
Inland Empire Regional Compost Authority

CMSA by Jeremy Schwarn

Central Marin Sanitary Agency by Jeremy Schwarn

Operations and Maintenance

CWEA people of the year

(l-r) Anthony Chang; Brian Bruemmer; Heath Cortez

Operator of the Year
Anthony Chang, OC San

Mechanical Technician Person of the Year
Brian Bruemmer, Silicon Valley Clean Water

Supervisor of the Year
Heath Cortez, West Bay Sanitary District

Laboratory, P3S and Young Professional

CWEA award winners

(l-r) Tiffany Ishaya; Eromosele Esoimeme; Samantha Hunkler

Laboratory Person of the Year
Tiffany Ishaya, Silicon Valley Clean Water

P3S Person of the Year
Eromosele Esoimeme, Central Marin Sanitation Agency

Young Professional of the Year
Samantha Hunkler, Los Angeles County Sanitation Districts

Laboratory Crystal Crucible Award
Sara Burke, Oro Loma Sanitary District

Sara Burke, Oro Loma SD

WEF Awards

Burke Safety Award
OC San

Bedell Volunteer Achievement Award
Connie Leonard, CDM Smith