The Bedell Award was established to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to a WEF Member Association. The nominee for this award is selected by CWEA’s Membership and External Relations Committee.

The award is named for Arthur Sidney Bedell, WEF’s second president for his long devotion and service to the New York Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, now the New York Water Environment Association. He was Chief of the Bureau of Sewage and Waste Disposal of the New York State Department of Health.

The award is presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association Annual Meeting.

Member of the Water Environment Federation
Organizational leadership, administrative service, membership activity, stimulation of technical functions, or similar participation.

Past Winners


Arvind Akela ’22
Connie Leonard ’21
Carrie Mattingly ’20
Debi Lewis, ’19
Elizabeth Allan ’18
Garry Parker ’17
Nick Arhontes ’15
Zoeanne Tafolla ’14
Berlinda Blackburn ’13
Maura Bonnarens ’12
Darren Greenwood ’11
Steven Agor ’10
Kathy Suter ’09
Denis Pollak ’08
Nicholas Pinhey ’07
Ann Heil, ’06
Tracy Stigers, ’05
Chuck Weir, ’04
Thomas Sutton, ’03
Michael T. Hogan ’02
Donald R. Roberson ’01
Andrew Stamatelos ’00
Thomas Cooke ’99
Charles W. Carry ‘98
Fran Forkas ‘97
James Clark ‘96
Robert A. Baker ‘95
Michael Donovan ‘94
John Larson ‘93
Andrew Fisichelli ‘92
Ronald Bergland ‘91
George T. Ohara ‘90
William N. Clarke, Sr. ‘89
Kenneth Kerri ‘88
Art Courtright ‘87
Daniel J. Hinrichs ‘86
Roger J. Dolan ‘85
Robert J. Barletta ‘84
Thomas I. Ikesaki ‘83
Joseph R. Higares ‘82
Robert A. Webber ‘81
Howard E. Wells ‘80
Walter S. Johnson ‘79
Kirtland H. Brooks ‘78
Chester Anderson ‘77
Manuel Munoz ‘76
Pat Taffer ‘75
P.H. McGauhey ‘74
Ladin H. Delaney ‘73
Leonard Burtman ‘73
Norris Bravender ‘72
Robert D. Whitley ‘71
Elmer E. Ross ‘70
Jack M. Betz ‘69
Raymond Walsh ‘68
Murray B. McKinnie ‘67
William F. Garber ‘66
Robert L. White ‘65
A.E. Greenberg ‘64
William Polanshek ‘63
Frank L. Pierson ‘62
Gerson Chanin ‘61
Sydney Preen ‘60
Richard Pomeroy ‘59
Raymond R. Ribal ‘58
Alvin A. Appel ‘57
Arthur G. Pickett ‘56
Frederick G. Nelson ‘55
Arthur T. Wintergill ‘53
Edward Alex. Reinke ‘50

The George W. Burke award recognizes a municipal or industrial wastewater facility for establishing and maintaining an active and effective safety program.

This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and WEF as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing WEF’s annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets.

The purpose of this award is to encourage an active and effective safety program in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities.

Award presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association Annual Meeting.

CWEA awards the highest scoring Safety Plant of the Year application with the George W. Burke award.

The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45 and served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient’s name and is presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association annual meeting.

CWEA’s Operations and Maintenance Committee selects their recipient for the Hatfield Award following the WEF general criteria indicated below:

  • Member of the Water Environment Federation
  • Documentation of a successful system of reports from the operator to his or her superiors that fulfill the information requirements and provide the operator with a forum for suggestions for improvements.
  • Use of a good public relations program.
  • The nominee should have contributed to the dissemination of information concerning advancements in the field

The Laboratory Analyst award recognizes individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession. The award is presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association annual meeting.


    • Member of the Water Environment Federation.
    • Candidate must be employed at an educational facility laboratory, industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory which performs wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical responsibilities.
    • Candidates are eligible for this award only once.
    • Qualifying criteria may include:
      • Membership and involvement in professional associations. Examples: Water Environment Federation Committees, Standard Methods Joint Task Groups, MA committees and conferences and conference activities.
      • Outstanding efforts in the area of wastewater and environmental aquatic analyses, including such items as innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment, analytical or environmental problem.
      • Involvement in community activities or public relations.
      • Presentations at professional conferences, meetings, etc. relevant to water quality analysis.
      • Professional certifications.
      • Continuing education.
      • Contributions that have been beneficial to the nominees facility.
      • Unusual initiative or performance “beyond the call of duty.”

Recognizes operators of wastewater treatment facilities for their service and dedication in a difficult and dangerous profession. The Club was created under the sponsorship of Frank Woodbury Jones, who served as the Clubs’ first registrar.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Member of WEF for a minimum of five consecutive years immediately preceding application.
  • Significant, full-time participant in the water environment profession for a minimum of 25 years,
    • 10 years of which must have been in active participation in the day-to-day collections, maintenance, operations, laboratory, or management of a wastewater transportation or treatment facility.
  • Completed and signed application Download the application

Applications Accepted From: WEF Professional Wastewater Operations Members

E-mail or Mail Applications to:
Water Environment Federation Awards Program
E-mail: Tori Cox
Manager, Association Engagement
601 Wythe Street
Alexandria VA 22314
Phone: 703-684-2400; ext. 7070