Most CWEA awards start at the Local Section with the exception of a few (see Special Awards). Each applicant will use their CWEA member ID to log into the CWEA awards system to select the Local Section they are applying in and the category of award. Once the application has been completed, the awards are sent to each Local Section for review/judging. Local Sections must use the State application for all awards. See the awards policy here.

The highest score in each section for each category will move on to the State level automatically. There is no need to submit another application at the state level with the exception of Collection System of the Year and Safety Plant of the Year where a second round of questions will be made available to complete the application.

Once all Local Sections have submitted their winners, CWEA will share those winners with each committee. Each committee will assign judges for their category.

Committee judges review and provide scores for each application by the deadline specified.

The highest score from each category will be assigned the first place winner and move into the Winners Gallery. These first place winners will also receive plaques at the Annual Conference.

July 1 – Awards program goes live.

December 2 – Final local section winners are due to CWEA. Local Sections will need to decide on the winners of their awards by this date.

January 18  – Section winners are sent to committees for state review.
(Including non Local Section applications like Crystal Crucible; PICK; Gimmicks & Gadgets; Pomeroy; Golden Manhole)

February 15 – Quarter Century applications due

February 15 – All state winners (from committees) due to CWEA.

February 22  – CWEA Membership and External Relations Committee (MER) approves winners; winners are notified; plaques are ordered; AC materials finalized. Nominees will be notified by email by the MER chair and invited to attend the Annual Conference at the early bird rate.

March 1 – 5S applications (Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers) due

April 11-14  – Plaques are distributed at the Annual Conference in Sacramento

Central San Joaquin (CSJ)
Colorado River Basin (CORBS) October 29 Felix DeLeon
Desert and Mountain (DAMS)
Golden Empire (GES)
Los Angeles Basin (LABS) November 30 Chris DeMonbrun
Monterey Bay (MBS) November 2 Amanda Bird
North Coast (NCS)
Northern Sacramento Valley (NSV) November 24 Brianna Barton
Northern San Joaquin (NSJ) November 19 Kevin Van Patten
Sacramento Area (SAC)
Redwood Empire (RED) November 12 Brittany Rossi
San Diego (SD) November 24 Ryan Morgan
San Francisco Bay (SFB) November 8 Mike Walkowiak
Santa Ana River Basin (SARBS) November 1 Chris Newton
Santa Clara Valley (SCV) November 19 Evan Currie
Sierra Section October 22 John Sheridan
Tri Counties (TRI) November 1 Mark Bennett

Need to change the section deadline or contact info? Contact Megan Barillo.

These awards are recognized at the state level and do not need to be reviewed by the Local Sections. However, the application process will still require each individual to indicate what section they belong to.

Award Committee
Gimmicks and Gadgets Collection System Committee
Golden Manhole Collection System Committee
PICK Collection System Committee
Richard D. Pomeroy Collection System Committee
Crystal Crucible Laboratory Committee
5S Select Society of Sanitary Shovelers
Film Festival (Every 3 years) Community Engagement and Outreach
CWEA Quarter Century NRC/SRC Committee
Kirt Brooks Scholarship Scholarship Committee
WEF Distinguished Honors & Awards WEF Website