Collection System Committee
Chair: Jerardo Barajas

To disseminate fundamental and practical training and knowledge concerning the collection system and mechanical equipment used in wastewater systems.

Engineering and Research Committee
Chair: Ian Watson

To enhance the knowledge and practice of sanitary engineering in all aspects of water pollution control and related activities.

Laboratory Training Committee
Chair: Josie Tellers

To develop and conduct educational programs to enhance the skills and knowledge of wastewater laboratory personnel of all levels.

Leadership Development Committee
Chair: Octavio Navarrete

Support CWEA members in their endeavors to become effective leaders in their respective fields and support their pursuit of leadership roles.

Northern Regional Committee
Chair: Aniruddha Bhagwat

To provide direction, resources and communication between the Northern Sections/Committees and the CWEA Board, as well as assist in educational and conference planning.

Operator and Maintenance Committee
Chair: Mark Harris

To develop and implement educational programs to enhance the skills and knowledge of wastewater treatment plant operations and maintenance personnel.

Pretreatment, Pollution Prevention and Stormwater Committee

Chair: Michael Placencia

To promote professional and technical excellence in the field of water pollution source control, including pretreatment, pollution prevention, and stormwater through education and training.

Community Engagement and Outreach Committee
Chair: Jennifer Buckley

To develop and implement educational programs for personnel in the water pollution control field who implement or participate in community information or community education activities.

Safety Committee
Chair: Andrew Corral

To coordinate and oversee the educational safety programs conducted by the Association and to cooperate with the Federation Safety Committee programs in providing information and educational materials, representing member interests in OSHA standards development and in other activities relevant to improving the safety records of the water pollution control field.

Scholarship Committee
Chair: Robert Delgado

The Kirt Brooks Scholarship Committee was created to develop and implement educational assistance for members and their immediate family. The Committee also coordinates and oversees the fund and scholarship fund raising efforts.

Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers
Chair: Charles Greely

5S recognizes individuals active in protecting the water environment through participation in Local, State, and/or Federal sponsored activities.

Southern Regional Committee
Chair: Christopher Newton

To maintain liaison between the Southern California local sections, the Northern Regional Committee and the Board of Directors, as well as coordinate region wide activities and conferences. Want to know more? Check out this awesome flyer that explains just what the SRC is.

Students and Young Professionals Committee

Chair: Sarah Perkins

To recognize the important role students and young professionals play in the future of our Association by developing and promoting programs, providing a voice for academia, and encouraging student and young professional participation in CWEA.

Technical Certification Program

Chair: John Vogel

The Technical Certification Program Executive Committee is the governing body of CWEA’s certification program. It was created to develop and implement a multilevel technical certification program for individuals employed in the wastewater field.

Student Design Competition Workgroup
Chair: Guy Yager

The WEF Student Design Competition promotes real-world design experience for students interested in pursuing education and careers in water and wastewater engineering and science. WEF hosts two different competitions at WEFTEC: the Wastewater Design and Environmental Design. CWEA holds their own Student Design Competition in the spring and allows student teams to bring problems they are currently working on.

Southern Sections Collection System Committee
Chair: Loren Wynne

Education Committee
Chair: Bryan Trussell