CWEA Safety Committee is Under New Management – Kinda


Attention Safety Professionals and Local Section Leaders

Allow me to introduce myself – I am Marjorie Del Toro, your newly appointed Safety Chair for 2019-2020.  I am currently the CEO/President of, SARBS past president, and part of the exclusive 5S club.

I may be new to some of you; however, I am not new to serving our members and this committee. I served as Safety Chair in 2011-2013, during my tenure, our committee received the prestigious Water Environment Federation (WEF) Safety Award. WEF recognized CWEA’s commitment to providing high-quality safety programs and resources was recognized. We are ready for a repeat!


The Committee’s mission is to promote safety in the workplace through the administration and coordination of the educational safety programs conducted by the Association, and through the support of local section safety functions and the Technical Certification Program.

Are you passionate about safety? Passionate about getting our members home safely? Passionate about leading? Passionate about being part of something big and innovative? Then call us! Join us! Our goal is to have a safety representative at each local section.

Open Positions: We have several Director level and sub-committee positions that need to be filled.  Interested in serving on the Safety Committee Board of Directors, e-mail a brief paragraph of why you want to join, which local section you belong to and any relevant experience.  NO experience? We will mentor you by getting you started in one of our sub-committees.

Maybe you don’t want to make a commitment, however, want to stay engaged. I want to hear from you.  E-mail me at [email protected] or call me (949) 540-6800 ext. 104.

In the meantime, here are some important dates to be aware of:

  • October 24th, 10:00 am
    ick-off CWEA Safety Committee meeting (Conference Call)
    We will discuss goals and objectives. This is your committee; you have a voice. Join us.
    Check with your local chapter for the deadline

    • Safety Plant of the Year
    • Individual recognitions
  • October 23rdNORTHERN SAFETY DAY (Come Say Hello)
    For more information visit:

See you soon!

Marjorie Del Toro
Chair, CWEA Safety Committee
(949) 540-6800 ext. 104
[email protected]