2019-20 CWEA Award Winners

Members in the News

First place – Ngyuen Dang, LACSD

CWEA is proud to announce the state winners of the Annual Awards program. These individuals and agencies were selected by CWEA’s Committees from over 300 applications.

Due to the postponement of AC20, we will present the award plaques during the rescheduled Annual Conference on October 27-30 in Reno.

Special thanks to Xylem as the lead supporter for the Awards Program.

Congratulations to these agencies and individuals, leading the way in the protection and enhancement of our water environment.

City of Riverside

Collection Systems

Collection System of the Year Large (Over 500 miles)
City of Riverside

Collection System of the Year Medium (250–500 miles)
City of Santa Barbara

El Estero Water Resource Center, City of Santa Barbara

Collection System of the Year Small (0-249 Miles)
City of Pacifica

Collection System Person of the Year
Joseph Hilliard, Goleta West Sanitary District

Collection Systems: Ambassadors, Golden Manhole Golden Manhole Society
Sam Rose, South Placer Municipal Utility District

Collection Systems: PICK- Professionalism, Ingenuity, Contribution, Knowledge

PICK Award – Professionalism, Ingenuity, Contribution, Knowledge
Dindo Carillo, Orange County Sanitation District
Daniel Dyer, Inland Empire Utilities Authority
Tyree Albert Jackson, City of Oakland
Dorien McElroy, Irvine Ranch Water District
Chris Newton, South Coast WD 

Jennifer Rojas, Long Beach Water Department

Gimmick/Gadget of the Year (Collection Systems)
Troy Minnick, City of Barstow “Chemical Dosing”

Leadership Development


Encina Water Pollution Control Facility

Plant of the Year Large
Encina Water Pollution Control Facility

Plant of the Year Medium
South San Francisco – San Bruno Water Quality Control Plant

Plant of the Year Small
Hollister Water Reclamation Facility

Supervisor of the Year
Louis Solana, Ironhouse Sanitary District

Engineering Research & Achievement

City of Paso Robles

Engineering Achievement of the Year:
City of Paso Robles Wastewater Treatment Plant “Tertiary Treatment Facilities Project and Nutrient Harvesting System”

Research Achievement of the Year:
Sanitation Districts of Los Angeles County “Pilot-Scale Evaluation of ANITA Mox for Mainstream Deammonification and Phosphorous Removal”

Community Engagement and Outreach


Best Use of Social Media
Central Contra Costa Sanitary District: Wipes Clog Pipes

Project of the Year Large Budget (Over $20K)
Central Contra Costa Sanitary District: The Central San Pipe Protectors

Project of the Year Small Budget (Under $20K)
Ironhouse Sanitary District, Delta Diablo, Byron Sanitary District, City of Brentwood, Town of Discovery Bay: No Wipes Down the Pipes

Community Engagement & Outreach Person of the Year
Stephanie Turnipseed, NapaSan


Safety: Plant of the Year Medium
Central Marin Sanitation Agency

Safety: Plant of the Year Small
City of Palm Springs WWTP

Operations and Maintenance

Dominic “Bruno” Brunozzi, James Mosing, Steven Ray

Operator of the Year
James Mosing, Fairfield-Suisun Sewer District

Electrical/Instrumentation Person of the Year
Steven Ray, Fairfield-Suisun Sewer District

Mechanical Technician Person of the Year

Dominic “Bruno” Brunozzi, Olivenhain Municipal Water District

Gimmick/Gadget of the Year (Operations and Maintenance)
First Place:
Juan Zapata, South County Regional Wastewater Authority
(Operated by Jacobs): “The UHMW Gate Cutter”

Second Place:
Francisco Suarez and Abel Zabalza, Coachella Valley Water District:
“Ammonia Probe Multi Position Ergonomical Holding Fixture”

Third Place:
Valley Sanitary District “The Pork Fork”

Laboratory, P3s and Students & Young Professionals

(l-r) Oyuna Jenkins, Abigail Gomez and Kaitie Zusy.

Laboratory Person of the Year  Oyuna Jenkins, City of Escondido

P3S Person of the Year Abigail Gomez, City of Fontana

Outstanding Young Professional of the Year Kaitie Zusy, Black and Veatch


Burke Award
Central Marin Sanitation Agency

Quarter Century Operator Club
Brian M. Hawley

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Nominee
Oyuna Jenkins, City of Escondido

Hatfield Awards
Chander Letulle, Jurupa Community Services District

CWEA Quarter Century Awards

Monte Hamamoto, Santa Clara Valley Section
Eric Hansen, Santa Clara Valley Section
Jim Heitzman, Monterey Bay Section
Terrie Hinkle, Northern San Joaquin Section
Gerardo Jimenez, Colorado River Basin Section
John Mukhar, Santa Clara Valley Section
John Stephen San Filippo, Santa Clara Valley Section
Jerry Iwao Tamura, Sacramento Area Section & Northern San Joaquin Section
Wyatt Troxel, Colorado River Basin Section

Photo Contest

First Place: Nguyen Dang, LACSD
Second Place: Jose McEra
Third Place: Kingsley Kuang – EBMUD