Chathura Abeyrathna
Mark Bennett
Soma Bhadra
Nicki Branch
Matthew Franklin
Wesley Garrison
Kaitlin Gellerman
Adel Hagekhalil
Nick Hansen
Shawn Nesgis
Jeff Tucker
Kevin Van Patten

Gilbert Barela
Ben Marquart
Bryan Trussell
Thomas Welche

Megan Barillo
Laurie Brenner
Steve Cano
Kathryn Gies
Mark Graham
Stephanie Shamblin Gray
Dennis Lambert
John Pujol
Valerie Ratto
John Robinson
Ryan Sellman
Nick Steffan
Ralph Stevens
Wyatt Troxel
Michael Walkowiak

David Bachtel
Jed Beyer
Amanda Bird
Vicki Conway
Tom Falk
Susan Hiestand
Debi Lewis
Jonathan Powell
Zaheer Shaikh
Gary Warren

Veronica Astells
Michael Flores
Scott Jacobs
Jacelyn Renwick
Shannon Simmers
Chris Stacklin
Matt Winkelman

Daniel Mills
Larry Olivan
Victoria Thornton
Victoria Francis
Kody Tompkins
Steve Sealy
Christopher Brown
Kimberly Booth
Steve Schindler

Arvind Akela
Chuck Greely
Rashi Gupta
Eric Hansen
Mickey Hulstrom
Steve Jepsen
Ian Mackenzie
Vivien Malig
Garry Parker
Sergio Ramirez
John Simonetti
Brian Villacorta

Kamil Azoury
Robert Cole
Vincent Falzon
Judy Hanson
John Hough
Jackie McCloud
Ken McIntosh
Elaine Sullivan
Ron Wade

Kent Bricker
Nancy Cameron
Dion Castro
William Cassidy
Steve Caswell
Steve Dominguez
Meg Herston
Teresa Kistner
Linda Leong
Helen Ling
Ken Merkle
Bob Phillips
Roy Reynolds

Doug Boss
John Boyd
Vicki Caulfield
Kirk Cloyd
Tim Costello
Giti Heravian
Basil Hewitt
Steve Krautheim
Juan Martinez
Eric Nielsen
Sanra Ralston
Michael Simpson
Doug Wing

Patty Banducci
Gina Cloutier
Blaine Drews
Tom Hendry
Brent Johnson
Jim Langley
Rachel Lather
Alec Mackie
Tony Pirondini
Cordell Samuels
Mark Takemoto

Jim Aanderud
Tom Adams
Catherin Allin
Tish Berge
Karen Falk
Mike Fritschi
Jerry Jimenez
Andy Morrison
Tim Potter
Hala Titus
Wendy Wert
Megan Yoo

Matt Bond
Marjorie Boone
Fran Burlingame
Onder Caliskaner
Louis Chiourn
Dan Cravins
Devina Douglas
Armando Garza
Preeti Ghuman
Allen Grayson
Tom Herlihy
Daryl Lauer
Berlinda McCadney
Mike Neri
Logan Olds
Sam Rose
Jerry Stephens
Kapil Verma
James Watson

5S History
5S History
Pennsylvania started the High Hat Society in 1937 and used the words “Sludge Shovelers Society” in its initiation ceremony. Later, this became known as the Ted Moses Sludge Shovelers Society. The second Chapter of the Five S Society was formed in Arizona in October 1940, the idea being conceived by A.W. “Dusty” Miller and F. Carlyle Roberts, Jr. There are chapters in many of the United States and in Canada, as well as the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand.
Donate to the Kirt Brooks Scholarship
Every year, 5S inductees are tasked with collecting donations during CWEA’s Annual Conference. Help support the future of our profession! You can honor a recent 5S member by donating to the Kirt Brooks Scholarship below.
Nominations are accepted from individuals as well as Local Sections and CWEA committees. A select committee of Sludge Shovelers evaluates all the supporting documentation for each nominee. Only a few are selected each year. Selection is made solely on merit — it is not a popularity contest. This is not a self-nominating award. Your peers count on you to recognize their achievements and nominate them.