Statement From the WEF Board of Trustees


At the Water Environment Federation (WEF), our vision is to create a community of empowered professionals creating a healthy global water environment. A necessary component to achieving that vision is ensuring that every individual within the communities where we live, work, and serve is treated in an inclusive and equitable manner.

The recent senseless killings of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, and George Floyd, coupled with the disproportionate effects of the coronavirus pandemic on Black Americans call into focus the racism and inequalities that exist in the United States today. The protests taking place over the past week and continuing this week are a manifestation of the discrimination, systemic barriers, frustration, and lack of a voice that Black Americans contend with on a daily basis.  WEF stands in support of those protesting peacefully for change.

As WEF leaders, we promise to continue doing all that we can within our membership and activities to challenge and change systems of inequity that perpetuate racism and bias as we advance our mission.

We also reaffirm our commitment to leading the transformation to a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive water sector.

We challenge and encourage all WEF members to pause and reflect on their own implicit biases and examine the small daily actions that help build or remove barriers between us. We are all responsible for ensuring that each day we consider the positive and negative impacts our actions have on our colleagues.

We look forward to your continued support and personal commitment to advance our vision and create more equitable communities together.

2019-2020 WEF Board of Trustees

Jackie Jarrell, President
Lynn Broaddus, President-Elect
Tom Kunetz, Past-President
Jamie Eichenberger, Vice-President
Keith Hobson, Treasurer
Raj Bhattarai, Trustee
Howard Carter, Trustee
Aimee’ Killeen, Trustee
Mark Poling, Trustee
John Trofatter, Trustee
Ifetayo Venner, Trustee
Walt Marlowe, Executive Director

WEF Board of Trustees