Introducing CWEA’s New Board of Directors 2021-2022


The gavel was passed for the second time in a virtual setting, this time from CWEA’s Outgoing President Wendy Wert to our new President Arvind Akela.  Arvind is Engineering Director with Silicon Valley Clean Water. Congratulations Arvind!

Meet your 17-person CWEA Board.

Voted in as CWEA Board members after the June e-vote:

  • Jeff Tucker, CWEA Vice President from the North
  • Mark Takemoto, Director from the North on the Treasurer Track
  • William Cassidy, Director from the South
  • Bhavani Yerrapotu, WEF Delegate Director, North

Appointed to the Board as a Committee Chair

  • Howard Brewen, Southern Regional Committee Chair


These Board members are continuing on:

  • Arvind Akela, President
  • Megan Yoo Schneider, President-Elect
  • Wendy Wert, Past President
  • Soma Bhadra, Director from the South
  • Shawn Nesgis, Director from the North, Treasurer
  • Debi Lewis, WEF delegate Director
  • Valerie Ratto, Past SRC Chair
  • Abigail Gomez, Chair, Technical Certification Program
  • Zaheer Shaikh, Chair, Northern Regional Committee
  • Kody Tompkins, WEF Delegate Director from the South
  • Brian Villacorta, Director at Large, South, on the Treasurer Track
  • Gary Warren, Director from the North