CWEA Volunteer Leadership Opportunities


AC18 Educational Program Team
As CWEA begins our new fiscal year in July, there are a few open volunteer leadership posts. If you are interested or know a good candidate, please see the nomination contact info below.

  1. Northern Safety Day – Program Planning Committee members
    Help plan the educational tracks and speakers for the annual Northern Safety Day seminar in Woodland. 1-2 conference calls per month now through October.
  2.  5S Selection Committee – Vice Chair
    Calling all CWEA 5S members (Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers), please help choose the next class of shovelers as a 5S Selection Committee member. 2-3 conference calls in Jan-Mar each year.
  3. Laboratory Committee  – Vice Chair from the South
    Help lead the Laboratory Committee during the on-going changes in the ELAP program. Monthly conference calls. Also helps with planning Lab events during Annual Conference and other educational events.
  4. P3S Committee – Public Affairs Coordinator
    P3S needs someone to help coordinate our growing Social Media needs. Not only will this person coordinate our on-line presence, but they will also ensure our calendar is up to date and interact with points of contact throughout each local section and other CWEA committees to keep them abridged of everything relevant in the P3S world. Learn more on the P3S website >
  5. Plant of the Year Award – Judging Committee team members
    The Leadership Committee needs volunteer supervisors and other experts for the annual Plant of the Year judging teams. Visit 3-4 facilities from Jan-Mar. It’s a great opportunity to get an up-close look at other facilities and to help choose the plant of the year.
  6. Central San Joaquin Section – Students and Young Professionals (SYP) Chair
    Help lead SYP events for the CSJ Local Section.

Only CWEA members can volunteer. Send nominations, including nominating yourself to:

Alec Mackie
Director of Communications
[email protected]
510.382.7800 x114

We’ll direct you to the appropriate Committee leaders.