CWEA Awards Now Accepting Applications


The 2020 applications are now available online at

  • Recognize outstanding achievements within the wastewater field.
  • Improve the professional status of all personnel working in the wastewater industry and related fields.
  • Stimulate public awareness of the importance of wastewater treatment to public health and the water environment.

Awards are given at the Local Section level first; recipients then advance to the State competition.

*NEW THIS YEAR: Shorter forms for Collection System Maintenance of the Year and Safety Plant of the Year for the first round (Local Section round) have been created. The winners in the Local Section will be given access to complete the application for the state in time for the state deadline.

July 1 – Awards program goes live at

November 2 – Final local section winners are due to CWEA. Local Sections will need to decide on the winners of their awards by this date.

January 15 – Section winners are sent to committees for state review.

February 26 – All state winners (from committees) due to CWEA.

March 1-5 – CWEA Membership and External Relations Committee (MER) approves winners; winners are notified; plaques are ordered; AC materials finalized. Nominees will be notified by email by the MER chair and invited to attend the Annual Conference at the early bird rate.

April 19 (TBD) – Award plaques delivered to conference site

Friday at the Annual ConferenceMost CWEA State first place awards are given at the Friday luncheon of the Annual Conference. All winners are also recognized at the committee breakfast/lunch scheduled during Annual Conference week.

Mark your calendars with your Local Section deadlines and help get the word out!

Local section nominations will only be accepted online via

Log in using your account information and get started today!

Take a tour of the CWEA Awards Website.