Home > CWEA & Water Quality > Learn about water quality & the wastewater industry > Regulations in California > State Water Resources Control Board
State Water Resources Control Board
The State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB) was created by the Legislature in 1967. The joint authority of water allocation and water quality protection enables the SWRCB to provide comprehensive protection for California's waters.

The State Board's mission is to preserve, enhance and restore the quality of California's water resources, and ensure their proper allocation and efficient use for the benefit of present and future generations.

The SWRCB consists of five full-time salaried members, each filling a different specialty position. Board members are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.

There are nine Regional Water Quality Control Boards (RWQCBs). The mission of the RWQCBs is to develop and enforce water quality objectives and implementation plans that will best protect the beneficial uses of the State's waters, recognizing local differences in climate, topography, geology, and hydrology.

Each RWQCB has nine part-time members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Regional Boards develop "basin plans" for their hydrologic areas, issue waste discharge requirements, take enforcement action against violators, and monitor water quality.

The task of protecting and enforcing the many uses of water, including the needs of industry, agriculture, municipal districts, and the environment is an ongoing challenge for the SWRCB and RWQCBs.