The Plant Safety award is awarded in three categories: small, medium and large. Criteria include number of injuries, lost-time accidents, record keeping, in-house training, emergency response and program implementation.


You can download the  Safety Plant of the Year  form and fill it out to submit online. Or, click the Apply button to fill out the form online. If you choose to do the online form, you can save it and come back to it later. Please choose only one format.

If you are selected as your local section winner, you will be asked to enter in the remaining questions of this application in the next round. Those questions are not included in this round.

Questions: Kaila Krichmar, CWEA State Safety Chair, [email protected]

You must include all of the following to be eligible for the award.

  • At least one person from agency must be a CWEA member.

  • Copies of OSHA Form 300A Summary of Work Related Injuries and Illnesses for Year 2022 & 2023

If you won in the past year in this category, you are not eligible to apply in the current year.



For most CWEA awards, you must apply at your Local Section level first. Direct your questions to the Local Section Awards Chair. If you need additional assistance, contact Megan Barillo at [email protected].