2010 Officer Installation & Awards Dinner

Arrington Apples Eureka---November 5, 2010

The 2010 Awards and installation dinner was hosted at Arrington Apples on November 5th. Jody Allen, the incoming State Chair for CWEA, was in attendance for the commencement. During the dinner, Giovanna Guevara Flores, an HSU Engineering Student, gave a presentation on her summer research with NASA on treating water and wastewater in space. Door prizes were raffled off and included a mini-fridge, external hard drive, digital recordable record player (including Gene Simmons record and Mickey mouse disco), a real comfy office chair, coffee from Sacred Grounds and a few automotive tools.

 Michael Fritschi, the out-going North Coast Section Chair gave a brief overview of the accomplishments and training offered over the last year, including sewer science kit creation (Fortuna), Wastewater Operator Certification Training (Fritschi), Lab Training (Hansen), Ethics Training and Confined Space Entry (Veach, Orsini, Fritschi, Culbert, Hulstrom) and I/I training (Culbert).

 Michael thanked all of the North Coast Section Board members for their work over the year. Michael also thanked the North Coast members for their dedication to CWEA. Michael specifically thanked Mike Freeman for his tireless efforts and years of service invested in putting out the newsletters and maintaining an excellent web page.

The following awards were given by Greg Orsini incoming North Coast Section Chair: 

Award Winner
Collection Systems: Person of the Year Tim Latham
Collection Systems: System of the Year McKinleyville CSD
Electrical/Instrumentation: Person of the Year

William McBroome

Engineering Achievement Award W&K/ Rio Dell
Laboratory: Person of the Year Jeremy Dempsey
Mechanical Technician of the Year Tim Riddle
Operations: Operator of the Year Steve Coppini
>5 mgd Treatment Plant - Overall: Plant of the Year Elk River WWTP
Safety- Plant of the Year Award McKinleyville CSD
Supervisor of the Year James Henry
Public Education: Program of the Year College of the Redwoods and Michael Fritschi

After the awards were received, Jody Allen installed the following new slate of Board members:

Board Position Board Member
Chairperson Greg Orsini
Vice-Chairperson Hank Brenard
Secretary Orrin Plocher
Treasurer Michael Hansen
Northern Regional Committee Delegate Clay Yerby / Greg Orsini
Awards Chairperson Michael Fritschi
Membership Chairperson Mike Veach
Past Chair and Nominating Chairperson Michael Fritschi
Safety Chairperson Doug Culbert
Technical Certification Program Chair Hank Brenard
Program Chairperson Jillian Yerby
Newsletter Editor Abe Crow
Webmaster Mike Freeman

Plant Of The Year--Elk River Wastewater Treatment Plant


Public Education: Program of the Year--College of the Redwoods and Michael Fritschi


Operations: Operator of the Year--Steve Coppini


Mechanical Technician of the Year--Tim Riddle


Laboratory: Person of the Year--Jeremy Dempsey


Engineering Achievement Award--Winzler & Kelly/ City of Rio Dell


Outgoing Board: (From left) Hank Brenard, Technical Certification Program; Michael Hansen, Treasurer; Orrin Plocher, Secretary; Greg Orsini, Vice-Chairperson; Michael Fritschi, Chairperson; Doug Culbert, Safety Chairperson


Incoming Board: (From left) Abe Crow, Newsletter Editor; Hank Brenard, Vice Chairperson; Orrin Plocher, Secretary; Michael Hansen, Treasurer; Greg Orsini, Chairperson; Michael Fritschi, Past Chairperson and Nominating Chair; Doug Culbert, Safety Chairperson