Executive Officers

Committee Chairs

Special Events








·                Collection System of the Year Award, Medium Category (250-500 miles) –

Selma-Kingsburg-Fowler County Sanitation District

·                Plant of the Year Award, Medium Category (≥ 5 MGD to ≤ 20 MGD) –

Selma-Kingsburg-Fowler County Sanitation District

·                Safety Award, Small Category –

Big Creek Powerhouse #1 Wastewater Treatment Plant

·                Safety Award, Large Category –

Fresno/Clovis Regional Wastewater Reclamation Facility

·                Supervisor of the Year Award –

Veronica Cazares, Selma-Kingsburg-Fowler County Sanitation District

·                Laboratory Person of the Year Award –

Isaac Salgado, Marquez Brothers International

·                Engineering Achievement Award –

Selma-Kingsburg-Fowler County Sanitation District,

Headworks Improvements and Effluent Station Project

·                Gimmicks and Gadgets Award –

Greg Hurtado, Marquez Brothers International

·                Environmental Sustainability Award –

City of Orange Cove Wastewater Treatment Plant

·                Member Recognition Award –

Jim Olinger, Selma-Kingsburg-Fowler County Sanitation District

·                President’s Service Award –

Dan Cravins, City of Fresno





The world of wastewater treatment is a lonely one.  We are the unsung heroes, the soldiers at the last bastion between the good health and welfare of the general public and some of the most devastating diseases that have been known to wipe out populations.  We wish the world could see what we do and why we do it.  We wish for some recognition of all the hard work we do to protect the public from unsanitary world under the streets.

The CWEA awards program is our chance to stand shoulder to shoulder with our peers and say, “I think you’re doing a great job and I want others to know about it.”

There are over 20 categories for CWEA awards.  Each one has been designed to honor exceptional CWEA members and California wastewater professionals, facilities and agencies.  The awards program seeks to recognize outstanding achievements within the wastewater field, improve the professional status of all personnel working in the wastewater industry and related fields and stimulate public awareness of the importance of wastewater treatment to public health and the water environment.  The public becomes aware of this because the award recipients are often presented at a municipality’s local council meeting or district board meeting.

The various categories have been sent out previously in a separate announcement.  They cover fields including, but by no means limited to, laboratory, collection persons and systems, maintenance, electrical, operations, engineering, special projects, public education, newsletters, etc.  As you can see, we’ve got a lot of areas we want to recognize – as varied as the different aspects of wastewater treatment.

Awards are given first at our local section level and are awarded at our annual Awards Banquet and Installation of Officers; recipients then advance to the State competition; the State recipients receive their awards at the Friday luncheon of the Annual Conference. In addition, CWEA will forward any State winners in categories corresponding with WEF's award categories to WEF by April 1st.


Nomination forms

Group Awards:

Plant of the Year

Collection System of the Year

Engineering Achievement of the Year

Research Achievement of the Year

Public Education Program of the Year

Plant Safety of the Year


Individual Awards

Operator of the Year

Collection System Person of the Year

P3S Person of the Year

Electrical or Instrumentation Person of the Year

Gimmicks and Gadgets 2013

Mechanical Technician Person of the Year

Laboratory Person of the Year

Outstanding Young Professional

Public Education Person of the Year

Supervisor of the Year


State Awards Nomination Forms